- 1. Key Takeaways
- 2. What Is iTrustCapital?
- 3. How iTrustCapital Works
- 4. Fees and Minimums
- 5. Staking
- 6. Coin and Asset Selection
- 7. Is iTrustCapital Safe? Security and Custody
- 8. Is iTrustCapital Legit or a Scam?
- 9. iTrustCapital Reviews and Complaints: BBB, Trustpilot and CFPB Data
- 10. Pros and Cons
- 11. iTrustCapital vs. Alternatives
- 12. Crypto IRA Rules in 2026: Contribution Limits and Withdrawals
- 13. Who Should Use iTrustCapital?
- 14. Frequently Asked Questions
Last Updated: November 3, 2026
Is iTrustCapital safe? iTrustCapital is a legitimate US software platform, operating since 2018, that lets investors hold cryptocurrency, gold, silver, platinum and now stocks inside a self-directed IRA, with client assets held by third-party custodians rather than by iTrustCapital itself. As of November 3, 2026, there is no public record of a confirmed hack of client funds: the Better Business Bureau rates it A+ (not accredited) with 8 complaints in three years, Trustpilot shows a 5.0 score from 9,960 reviews, and the company denied a data breach allegation that on-chain investigator ZachXBT made in August 2026.
iTrustCapital charges a 1% fee on each crypto buy or sell, with no monthly, annual, setup or storage fees, and asks for $1,000 to open an account. This review explains how the platform works, what it costs, how its ETH and SOL staking works, how assets are secured, what the complaint data shows, the 2026 IRA rules and how it compares with other crypto IRA providers.
Key Takeaways
- Fees: 1% per crypto transaction, $0 commission on stocks and ETFs, no monthly, annual, startup, exit or storage fees; precious metals are priced per ounce over spot (iTrustCapital fee page, checked November 3, 2026)
- Minimums: $1,000 to open an account and $500 for each later deposit (iTrustCapital help center)
- Assets: more than 90 digital assets, physical gold, silver and platinum, and more than 10,000 US stocks and ETFs through Apex Clearing
- Accounts: Traditional, Roth and SEP IRAs, the taxable Premium Custody Account (PCA) and Treasury Accounts for businesses and trusts
- Custody: Fortis Bank, a Colorado state-chartered trust company, is the qualified custodian for IRA assets; iTrust Custodial Services (regulated in New Mexico) custodies PCA assets; crypto storage runs through Coinbase Custody, Fidelity Digital Assets and Fireblocks
- Staking: ETH and SOL in IRAs and PCAs; iTrustCapital and its provider keep 22% of rewards, and the rate shown in the dashboard is already net of that fee
- Reputation: BBB A+ (not accredited), 8 BBB complaints in three years and 1 in the last 12 months; Trustpilot 5.0 from 9,960 reviews (November 3, 2026)
- 2026 IRA limits: $7,500, plus a $1,100 catch-up from age 50, according to the IRS
What Is iTrustCapital?
iTrustCapital is a fintech software platform for alternative-asset retirement investing, based in Irvine, California, and run by ITC2.0, Inc. The BBB lists its business start date as August 21, 2018. It lets US investors buy and sell cryptocurrencies and precious metals, and now also stocks and ETFs, inside a self-directed Traditional, Roth or SEP IRA. iTrustCapital says on its homepage that it has handled $18 billion in transactions across more than 300,000 accounts; that is the company’s own figure.
iTrustCapital describes itself as a software platform, not an exchange, custodian, trust company, broker-dealer or investment adviser, so it is not regulated directly as any of those. Regulated partners do that work: a qualified custodian holds IRA assets, a broker-dealer (Apex Clearing) handles stock and ETF trades, and institutional storage providers hold the crypto.
Investors who do not want the IRA structure can open a Premium Custody Account (PCA), a taxable non-retirement account that uses the same closed-loop custody setup. Businesses, trusts and nonprofits can use a Treasury Account. Accounts are open to adults 18 and older; custodial accounts for minors are not offered.
What Changed Since 2025
- Stocks and ETFs: more than 10,000 US stocks and ETFs, with $0 commission, traded during regular market hours through a brokerage account at Apex Clearing
- Q strategies: opt-in, rule-based crypto trading strategies (Quantum, BTC Strategy and XRP Strategy) with a 0.10% trade fee; the Q subscription fee is waived through December 31, 2026, and tiered monthly fees of $0, $49 or $99 apply from January 1, 2027
- Stablecoins: USDC and Ripple USD (RLUSD) can be held in all account types, with rewards on both
- More assets: the help center now lists more than 90 digital assets (August 11, 2026), up from the “70+” cited in many 2025 reviews
- Higher limits: the IRA contribution limit rose from $7,000 in 2025 to $7,500 in 2026
How iTrustCapital Works
- Open an account: choose an IRA type, a PCA or a Treasury Account and complete identity verification online.
- Fund it: make a new cash contribution, transfer an existing IRA or roll over an old employer plan; IRS rules allow new IRA contributions in cash only, so crypto from an exchange or wallet cannot be contributed directly, although crypto already in another IRA can move in-kind.
- Trade: crypto trading runs 24/7 from the dashboard, with one-off, conditional and recurring orders; there are no token pairs, so moving from ETH to BTC takes two trades through US dollars, each with the 1% fee.
- Hold or stake: assets stay with the custodians; ETH and SOL can be staked from the dashboard.
- Withdraw: distributions go to a bank account or, in-kind, to a personal crypto wallet, and usually take 7 to 14 business days after the DocuSign form is signed.
Fees and Minimums
| Item | iTrustCapital (checked November 3, 2026) |
|---|---|
| Crypto buy or sell | 1% per transaction |
| Stocks and ETFs | $0 commission |
| Monthly, annual, startup, exit fees | $0 |
| Metals storage | $0 while held on the platform |
| Gold, silver, platinum | Transaction fee per ounce over spot (see the fee page) |
| Q strategy trades | 0.10% per transaction; subscription waived through December 31, 2026 |
| Distribution by ACH | $0 |
| Distribution or transfer out by wire | $15 |
| Roth conversion | $75 |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 |
| Minimum later deposit | $500 |
Sources: iTrustCapital’s fee page and help center. Per-trade minimums and maximums vary by asset and appear on the order page. The metals markups are not shown in the public text of the fee page, so check the current rate in the dashboard before trading.
Staking
iTrustCapital offers built-in staking on two proof-of-stake assets, Ethereum (ETH) and Solana (SOL), in Traditional, Roth and SEP IRAs and in Premium Custody Accounts. Clients stake and unstake from the dashboard, a third-party staking infrastructure provider runs the validators, and rewards are paid in the staked token when the client unstakes.
iTrustCapital Crypto Staking Review: Rates, Fees and Lockups
- Rates: iTrustCapital does not publish live staking rates on its public pages; the dashboard shows an annual rate that is already net of fees and changes with network conditions. Its staking FAQ (updated October 27, 2026) uses a 6.39% SOL rate as an example.
- Fee: iTrustCapital and its provider keep 22% of rewards, so a client keeps 78%: on $10 of rewards, $2.20 goes to fees and $7.80 to the client.
- Lockups: staked tokens are locked and must be unstaked before they can be sold. The FAQ lists Solana bonding and unbonding at 2 to 4 days and Ethereum unbonding at 1 to 2 days, while it gives Ethereum bonding as 23 days in one answer and 42 days in another (estimates as of May 2026). Unstaked tokens and rewards reach the account within 2 to 45 business days.
- No compounding: rewards are not restaked automatically.
- Taxes: inside an IRA, staking rewards generally grow tax-deferred (Traditional) or tax-free on qualified withdrawal (Roth); in a PCA they are taxable.
The verdict on staking: it is convenient for ETH and SOL holders who want rewards without leaving the IRA, but the 22% cut is a real cost and the asset list is short.
Coin and Asset Selection
iTrustCapital lists more than 90 digital assets, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, BNB, Solana, Dogecoin, Cardano, Chainlink and the USDC and RLUSD stablecoins; some are available only in IRAs and not in PCAs. It also offers physical gold, silver and platinum, sourced from Kitco and stored at the Royal Canadian Mint, where clients own their ounces 1:1 as an allocated share of large bars. More than 10,000 US stocks and ETFs are available, but not mutual funds or extended-hours trading.
That mix of crypto, metals and stocks in one retirement account sets iTrustCapital apart from bitcoin-only providers such as Swan.
Is iTrustCapital Safe? Security and Custody
iTrustCapital never holds client assets on its own balance sheet. Fortis Bank, a Colorado state-chartered trust company, is the qualified custodian for IRA assets, which are held for the benefit of (FBO) each client. iTrust Custodial Services, regulated in New Mexico, is the custodian for PCA accounts. The crypto itself is stored with institutional providers, named in the help center as Coinbase Custody, Fidelity Digital Assets and Fireblocks (the homepage also names Coinbase Prime and Wells Fargo), using multi-party computation (MPC) and offline cold storage; iTrustCapital says these providers hold SOC 2 Type II certifications. The same infrastructure is used by many large custodial platforms, including the Coinbase business covered in our Coinbase review.
What protection exists: iTrustCapital lists a commercial crime insurance policy but does not publish its insurer or coverage amount. Crypto is never FDIC insured. US dollar cash may sit in FDIC-insured accounts at partner banks (such as Wells Fargo and Fortis Bank) or in money market accounts covered by SIPC, depending on the account. Client assets are not mixed with company funds.
Closed-loop design: funds can only return to verified bank accounts or wallets after checks such as a verification call, and iTrustCapital says crypto cannot be drained from an account because there is no direct connection to external wallets. That design is the main reason it is slower than an exchange for withdrawals.
Security incidents: iTrustCapital has no confirmed hack of client funds on record as of November 3, 2026. On August 24, 2026, ZachXBT alleged that iTrustCapital and BitcoinIRA had suffered undisclosed data breaches exposing customer details, Protos reported; iTrustCapital publicly denied any recent third-party vendor breach affecting its platform, and no losses of iTrustCapital client funds were alleged. Phishing remains the main risk for users, so turn on two-factor authentication and treat unexpected withdrawal emails with suspicion.
Custody matters more after the October 29, 2026 Binance hack, in which about $6.3 billion was taken and which the FBI attributed to North Korea’s TraderTraitor unit on October 31, as CoinDesk reported. A self-directed IRA does not remove market risk: Bitcoin traded at about $77,293 on CoinMarketCap at 12:46 UTC on November 3, down 0.6% in 24 hours, and the Crypto Fear and Greed Index stood at 26 (Fear).
Is iTrustCapital Legit or a Scam?
iTrustCapital is not a scam. It is an operating US company that has run since 2018, works with regulated custodians, a FINRA member broker-dealer and named institutional storage providers, and publishes its fees. It was widely reported to have raised $125 million in a 2021 funding round. The BBB gives it an A+ rating; it is not BBB accredited, but accreditation is a paid, optional program and not a test of legitimacy.
Because “scam” searches are common for any crypto platform, the useful checks are concrete: a registered custodian holds the assets, withdrawals go only to verified destinations, and complaint data is low relative to its size (see the next section). The risks are the ordinary ones of crypto investing (price swings, staking lockups, slower withdrawals than an exchange) and fraud by impersonators. See our guide on how to verify crypto news and rumors before acting on claims about any platform.
iTrustCapital Reviews and Complaints: BBB, Trustpilot and CFPB Data
| Source (checked November 3, 2026) | What it shows |
|---|---|
| Better Business Bureau | A+ rating, not accredited; file opened April 10, 2022; 8 complaints in the last 3 years, 1 in the last 12 months |
| Trustpilot | 5.0 TrustScore from 9,960 reviews: 9,134 five-star, 459 four-star, 167 three-star, 79 two-star and 121 one-star; claimed profile, paid Trustpilot subscription |
| CFPB Consumer Complaint Database | A search for “iTrustCapital” returned no matching complaints |
About 1.2% of iTrustCapital’s Trustpilot reviews are one-star and 2% are one or two stars. The company has claimed its Trustpilot profile and pays for a subscription, which readers should keep in mind when weighing the score. Eight BBB complaints in three years is a low count for a platform that reports more than 300,000 accounts. The friction points iTrustCapital’s own help center spends the most time on are distribution times (7 to 14 business days after signing), verification calls and the 1% fee on every crypto trade. The CFPB database only covers complaints that consumers file with the bureau.
Pros and Cons
Pros:
- 1% crypto fee with no monthly, annual, setup or storage fees
- Crypto, gold, silver, platinum, stocks and ETFs in one retirement account
- ETH and SOL staking inside the IRA, plus USDC and RLUSD rewards
- Assets held FBO clients with a qualified custodian and institutional cold storage
- A+ BBB rating, low complaint count and 24/7 crypto trading
Cons:
- $1,000 opening minimum and $500 for later deposits
- 1% on every crypto trade adds up for frequent traders, and there are no direct crypto-to-crypto pairs
- 22% cut of staking rewards, only two stakable assets and lockups of up to 45 business days to receive funds
- Withdrawals take 7 to 14 business days
- Not BBB accredited, and no published insurance amount
iTrustCapital vs. Alternatives
Blockchainreporter’s comparison below uses each provider’s own pages where they were readable on November 3, 2026. Alto, which the earlier version of this page listed as a rival, sold its CryptoIRA business to Public on November 13, 2025 and no longer offers crypto IRAs directly.
| iTrustCapital | Bitcoin IRA | Swan Bitcoin IRA | Public Crypto IRA | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crypto trade fee | 1% | 2%, according to IRA Financial’s comparison (updated April 2026) | 1% | Not stated on its IRA page |
| Account or custody fee | None | None, according to IRA Financial | 0.02% of assets a month, $20 minimum | Not stated on its IRA page |
| Assets | 90+ crypto, metals, stocks and ETFs | 100+ crypto (company, September 2026) | Bitcoin | Crypto (Public lists 60+ crypto assets overall) |
| Custody | Fortis Bank, Coinbase Custody, Fidelity Digital Assets, Fireblocks | Digital Trust and BitGo | Equity Trust | Alto Trust Co (New Mexico) |
| Non-IRA account | Yes (PCA) | Yes (Freedom Accounts, since September 1, 2026) | Yes (standard Swan accounts) | Yes (standard Public accounts) |
| Extra | ETH and SOL staking | Staking on eligible assets | No altcoins | 1% match on eligible IRA contributions |
Bitcoin IRA’s own site blocks visitors outside the US, so its fees could not be read directly; confirm them on bitcoinira.com before opening an account. Bitcoin IRA launched taxable Freedom Accounts on September 1, 2026. Swan’s fees come from its IRA page, and Public’s match and custodian from its IRA page, which requires matched funds to stay in the account for five years.
In Blockchainreporter’s comparison, iTrustCapital and Swan share the lowest stated crypto trade fee, 1%, with iTrustCapital adding metals, stocks and staking, while Swan suits bitcoin-only savers and Public suits investors who want a contribution match.
Crypto IRA Rules in 2026: Contribution Limits and Withdrawals
The same IRS rules apply to a crypto IRA at iTrustCapital as to any other IRA. For 2026, according to IRS news release IR-2025-111 (November 13, 2025):
| 2026 IRA rule | Figure |
|---|---|
| Contribution limit (Traditional and Roth combined) | $7,500 (2025: $7,000) |
| Catch-up from age 50 | $1,100, for $8,600 in total (2025: $1,000) |
| Roth IRA income phase-out, single | $153,000 to $168,000 |
| Roth IRA income phase-out, married filing jointly | $242,000 to $252,000 |
| Traditional IRA deduction phase-out, single and covered by a workplace plan | $81,000 to $91,000 |
| Traditional IRA deduction phase-out, married filing jointly, contributing spouse covered | $129,000 to $149,000 |
SEP IRAs follow employer limits, up to $72,000 for 2026 according to iTrustCapital’s help center. Contributions for 2025 were due by April 15, 2026. Withdrawals from an IRA before age 59 and a half are generally included in income and face a 10% additional tax unless an exception applies, and required minimum distributions from Traditional IRAs generally start at age 73. IRA assets must stay with a custodian, so they cannot sit in a personal wallet until they are distributed. Tax rules vary with personal circumstances, so check with a tax professional before contributing, converting or withdrawing; our crypto taxes guide covers how crypto held outside an IRA is taxed.
Who Should Use iTrustCapital?
iTrustCapital suits buy-and-hold investors who want tax-advantaged exposure to crypto, precious metals and stocks in one account without recurring account fees, and who are comfortable with institutional custody instead of holding their own keys. It is also a fit for ETH and SOL holders who want staking inside an IRA.
It is less suitable for active traders, since every crypto trade costs 1% and withdrawals take days, for investors with less than $1,000 to start, and for people who want to control their private keys, who should look at self-custody in our crypto wallets guide for money held outside an IRA.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is iTrustCapital safe?
iTrustCapital uses third-party custody: Fortis Bank holds IRA assets for each client, and crypto is stored with Coinbase Custody, Fidelity Digital Assets and Fireblocks using cold storage and multi-party computation. There is no confirmed hack of client funds as of November 2026. Crypto is not FDIC insured, the company does not publish its crime insurance amount, and prices remain volatile, so safety of custody is not safety from losses.
Is iTrustCapital legit or a scam?
iTrustCapital is a legitimate company operating since 2018, with an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, eight BBB complaints in three years and a 5.0 Trustpilot score from 9,960 reviews as of November 2026. It works with a regulated trust company, a FINRA member broker-dealer and named institutional custodians. It is not BBB accredited, which is an optional paid program and not a sign of fraud.
What are iTrustCapital’s fees?
iTrustCapital charges a 1% fee on each cryptocurrency buy or sell and no commission on stocks and ETFs. There are no monthly, annual, setup, exit or metals storage fees. Gold, silver and platinum carry a per-ounce charge over spot, wire withdrawals cost $15 and Roth conversions $75. The optional Q strategies charge 0.10% per trade, with subscription fees waived until December 31, 2026.
What is the minimum investment for iTrustCapital?
The minimum to open an iTrustCapital account is $1,000, and every additional cash contribution, transfer or rollover needs at least $500. There is no maximum for IRA transfers or rollovers, while new cash contributions are capped by IRS limits, which are $7,500 for 2026, or $8,600 from age 50. Minimum and maximum amounts per trade vary by asset and appear on the order page.
Is iTrustCapital BBB accredited?
No. iTrustCapital holds an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau but is not accredited. Accreditation is an optional program in which a business pays a fee and agrees to BBB standards, so many legitimate companies skip it. As of November 3, 2026, the BBB profile showed eight complaints in the last three years and one complaint in the last twelve months.
Does iTrustCapital offer crypto staking?
Yes. iTrustCapital lets clients stake Ethereum and Solana in Traditional, Roth and SEP IRAs and in Premium Custody Accounts. iTrustCapital and its staking provider keep 22% of rewards, and the rate shown in the dashboard is already net of that fee. Staked tokens are locked, rewards are paid when you unstake, and funds can take 2 to 45 business days to return.
How does iTrustCapital compare to Bitcoin IRA?
iTrustCapital charges 1% per crypto trade with no account fees and adds metals, stocks and ETFs. Bitcoin IRA lists more than 100 cryptocurrencies with custody through Digital Trust and BitGo, and IRA Financial’s April 2026 comparison puts its trade fee at 2%. Both offer staking and a taxable account, so fees, asset mix and custody are the main differences to compare.
What do iTrustCapital reviews and complaints say?
Reviews are mostly positive: 9,134 of 9,960 Trustpilot reviews give five stars and about 1.2% give one star, although the company has a claimed, paid profile. The Better Business Bureau shows eight complaints in three years. Distributions take 7 to 14 business days because of verification steps, a common friction point. A November 2026 search of the CFPB complaint database found no matching complaints.
Has iTrustCapital been hacked?
No confirmed hack of iTrustCapital client funds has been reported as of November 3, 2026. In August 2026, investigator ZachXBT alleged that iTrustCapital and BitcoinIRA had undisclosed customer data breaches. iTrustCapital denied any recent third-party vendor breach affecting its platform, and no losses of its clients’ funds were alleged. Users should still use two-factor authentication and watch for phishing emails.
What is the crypto IRA contribution limit for 2026?
For 2026, the IRS limit for Traditional and Roth IRA contributions combined is $7,500, up from $7,000 in 2025. Savers aged 50 or older can add a $1,100 catch-up contribution, for $8,600 in total. Roth eligibility phases out between $153,000 and $168,000 of income for single filers and between $242,000 and $252,000 for married couples filing jointly.
Can I hold my iTrustCapital IRA crypto in my own wallet?
No. IRS rules require IRA assets to be held by a custodian, so crypto in an iTrustCapital IRA stays with its qualified custodian and storage partners. You can take a distribution in kind to a personal wallet, but that ends the IRA treatment for those assets and may trigger taxes and, before age 59 and a half, a 10% additional tax.
This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, investment or tax advice. Always conduct independent research before making investment decisions.
Data sources: iTrustCapital fee page, homepage and help center; Better Business Bureau; Trustpilot; CFPB Consumer Complaint Database; IRS news release IR-2025-111; Swan Bitcoin and Public IRA pages; Alto; IRA Financial; Protos; CoinMarketCap; alternative.me. All checked November 3, 2026.